Cabbage & Ginger Spring Rolls

As we are 5 meals a day eaters- and have to cook the majority of our food on Sundays- we’re always looking for quick easy recipes that stay fresh all week.  Enter spring rolls!  This is my second time making them- and my second recipe.  I like them both equally and will post the other relatively soon.

Ingredients:

  • Rice Paper Wrappers
  • 1/2 head of cabbage (I used Green- as that’s what they had at the City Market- but you can use either)- chopped
  • 10 green onions, chopped
  • 1 1/2 cup cooked rice noodles
  • 1/2 cup fresh cilantro- chopped
  • 1/2 cup carrots- sliced
  • Juice from 1 lime
  • 1 tbsp fresh grated ginger
  • 1/2 cup grated peanuts

Method:

  1. Mix Cabbage, onions, cilantro, carrots, ginger, and lime juice in large bowl
  2. Submerge rice wrappers in luke warm water until pliable (I fill a skillet with water and dip one roll at a time- then take it out and put in a new one to soak while I fill the first one).  It takes about 20-30 seconds to become pliable.
  3. Put wrapper on flat surface, put a small amount of noodles and then about 2 tablespoons of mix on the bottom 1/3 of the wrapper and wrap.
  4. It took me a few tries- but below is a decent video on how to wrap them.

Review:

Very Very good snack.  I make 20 of them- and we an afternoon snack of 2 rolls, rice, and carrots.  I also serve them with low sodium soy sauce.   I cant wait to keep trying different ones.  They keep very well in the fridge for a week.

One thought on “Cabbage & Ginger Spring Rolls

Leave a Reply

